Lonnie Yates Award


This award may be presented at the Kentucky Section annual meeting to an individual who, over the person’s professional career, has contributed outstandingly to the advancement of transportation engineering and the Kentucky Section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE).

The selection of the recipient is based on such traits as integrity, morality and leadership. Professional individual accomplishments such as transportation engineering innovations, technical research and paper writing can be considered. ITE organizational work including holding office and committee participation in the Section or the District should also be considered. The recipient shall have been a member of the Kentucky Section for a period of at least five years and displayed the characteristics mentioned.

The Kentucky Section George A. “Lonnie” Yates Distinguished Service Award is named after an individual who has given of his/her time and talents to the furtherance of his/her profession and professional organization. Lonnie Yates was born in Frankfort, Kentucky, and earned his engineering degree at the University of Kentucky. Later, he attended Kentucky State University where he earned an associate degree in computer science. He is a registered Professional Engineer.

Following graduation, Lonnie became a full time employee of the Kentucky Department of Highways Division of Traffic. In 1969, Lonnie went to work as the first traffic engineer for Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. He returned to the Kentucky Department of Highways Division of Traffic in 1970 and remained there until 1991 when he was moved to a position in the State Highway Engineers Office. His appointment as Chief District Engineer of the Bowling Green District Office came in 1997 from which he retired in 2001.

Lonnie is a charter member of the Kentucky Division (now Section). As a member of the Kentucky Section and the Southern District, he has served in all office positions of both and on numerous committees. For his contributions to these organizations he has been the recipient of the District’s Marble J. Hensley Individual Activity Award and the Herman J. Hoose Distinguished Service Award. He will tell you that his most cherished recognition came when he was presented with the Kentucky Section Distinguished Service Award which now carries his name.

Lonnie Yates (2000)
Andy Terwilleger (2001)
Bill Seymour (2002)
Ron Herrington (2003)
Karen Mohammadi (2004)
Jeff Moore (2010)
Steve Cummins (2013)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s